A Polished Frame

“If you don’t like something change it; if you can’t change it, change the way you think about it.” ~ Mary Engelbreit

Job 22:28 “Whatever YOU decide on a matter, it WILL be established for you, and light will shine on your ways.”

I am going to challenge myself to do some constructive REFRAMING during this holiday season. Reframing simply means to re-evaluate, re-examine, re-plan, rethink, re-assess, re-describe, or correct. I have some old “frames” that have boxed in my ideas and how I picture things that now just need a brand new polished frame. 

reframing-Med

This year at Thanksgiving I have determined to reframe MY situation. It’s not actually a challenging situation that is upsetting. It’s how one perceives that situation. So I invite you to engage in some reconstruction with me this year if you need to. The next time you find yourself complaining about life’s hassles, see if you can mentally “flip the switch” to frame things differently.

God gave each of us the ability to flip the switch to reframe and reconstruct. We have that choice and ability. That’s what is so great about God. We can wallow in self-pity, put our energy in to dwelling on the past, or thinking about what we perceive as lacking in our lives OR we can flip that ugly switch and start constructing a brand new frame of mind.  We can change the channel with God’s help. We can purpose to do things differently. Just because we have always done a certain thing or felt a certain way doesn’t mean we are stuck there forever.

Holidays in general have been “challenging” times for me at best. Many factors have played in to creating this energy in my head. Some of them very real, some of the imagined. Some of them small some of them large. But never the less my reality has been altered. Many times in the past especially during the holidays I have been guilty of being a Pessimist. I have had the habit of complaining about things I don’t have. This year I purpose in my heart and mind to do the exact opposite and love my life for the things that I do have, no matter how little.

Many thoughts are dancing around the edges of my mind and all of them are wanting to gain entrance in to my head. I am most thankful that I get to choose which ones to let in, and which ones to kick out. I control the entry way.

I have been fearfully and wonderfully made by God. Thanksgiving is a perfect time to get acquainted with the idea that I am a marvelous creation. I thank God for the wonderful creation of ME. I plan to grab a pen and paper and write down all my skills and talents, no matter how small. I challenge you to do the same thing. You may be surprised at how many you have that you do not utilize. My goal is to start sharing these gifts to bring joy to others around me, and give them the chance to appreciate my uniqueness. (Psalm 139:14 New Living Translation “Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous–how well I know it”.)

I have decided on this matter and it shall be so in my life.

Give thanks with a grateful heart!

Happiness-Is-Always-an-Inside-Job1

 

.

One thought on “A Polished Frame

  1. Pingback: A Polished Frame | Shattered Silence- Words on Fire

Leave a Reply

